How to rock the nursing chair

Pun totally intended, because as part of my ‘project nursery’ I’m looking for the perfect nursing chair to fit in the little bay window, and have been looking specifically at rocking chairs.

I’ve read a lot of articles and opinions on whether you even need a nursing chair, with many saying the nursing was done mostly in the parent’s bed or somewhere else in the house, and others saying they found it completely invaluable to forming part of the bedtime routine. I can imagine the latter is true and like the thought of making the nursery a safe and cosy sanctuary for both the baby and I (and Daddy Lynch of course) and you surely can’t have a sanctuary without somewhere comfortable to sit. And what’s more soothing for babies and adults alike than a rocking chair? Except maybe a rocking chair with wine.

So here’s my run down of some of the best nursery-perfect rocking chairs I’ve found, to suit a very broad range of styles and budgets. Starting with the luxury designer pieces and working my way to more of the budget friendly looks.

This glider chair from Custard and Crumble is a classic nursing chair, with the super comfy seating, glider action and matching footstool. If you’re going all traditional, this could be the one for you. But at £1,375 it’s not one for the masses, so try Mothercare who have a range of very similar styles at more budget friendly prices.

from Custard Crumble
A classic glider style from Custard and Crumble

A couple more for the big spenders, Not on the High Street has a few gorgeously designed pieces. The Morpheus Rocking Nursery Chair is the ultimate comfy armchair on rockers. The quality is even obvious from the picture, and the shape of the wooden rockers shows there’s been a huge attention to detail and a lot of love from some furniture designer in this chair.

Not on the High Street chair. Not on my budget chair.
Not on the High Street chair. Not on my budget chair.

The Opulence Rocking Chair is also from Not on the High Street and if you have a spare £3,600 (and let’s face it who doesn’t?!) this is a simply beautiful chair which is the ultimate in chic and stunning nursery furniture. It belongs in a princess nursery, and is suited to a princess budget budget too.
original_opulence-rocking-chair-nursery

Now let’s start bringing those pound signs down a notch. During my research I came across Nubie.co.uk which I love for inspiration. This Olli Ella Dada glider nursing chair is a nice change from the super pretty and feminine chairs I’ve seen so far, thanks to the more masculine lines and navy blue colour. But it doesn’t sacrifice comfort for cool, and at £875 I’d expect it all too!

da-da_lifestyle_0 nubie nursery chair

Another Olli Ella number, the Ro-Ki rocker chair has a real retro vibe, with simple lines and clean fabric (not for long) and ergonomically designed rockers, this chair looks like it was made for speed rocking. Simple, beautiful and gorgeous imagery from Olli Ella, Pinterest-worthy all round.

ro-ki-rocker-474

One of the more budget rocking chairs is actually more of a grown up bouncer than a rocker, but you can’t go wrong with the IKEA Poang chair. Scandi-style and purse-friendly, it’s also more of a space saver than the other style. I am a HUGE fan of IKEA Hacks, I do them at every opportunity, and this chair is prime for a bit of upholstering and creating a statement, unique nursery piece for a bit of a bargain. Just look at this perfect example from How Joyful Blog and how the plain Poang has been transformed into a chevron beauty fit for any neutral nursery.

ikea poang rocker chair

And last but not least, it’s the chair I have my eye on for that little bay window in our nursery. It’s the Charles Eames style RAR Rocking Chair. I don’t have room for a big comfy armchair and footstool combo, I need something compact and cute to fit the space and not over crowd the room.  I love the simplicity of the seat and the blend of plastic, metal and wood. And oh my god, styled like this Pinterest inspo shot, with a faux fur throw and cushions, it adds the comfort factor and makes it a total must-have in my house.

eames style rar rocking chair

The Eames style chair is available all over the web at a variety of prices. I guess quality also differs but hey, I don’t have over £300 to spend on a chair at John Lewis, especially when I can get an identical looking version from the likes of Wayfair and Tesco Direct (just not in white, damn it, but a bargain under £50 if you’re looking for something brighter).  Now I just need to pick my supplier and find my faux fur throw and I’m all set for rocking those long, sleepless nights away!

Diary of an imperfect mum
Home Etc
The Pramshed

15 thoughts on “How to rock the nursing chair

  1. I was very fortunate that my lovely mummy bought me a pink glider rocking chair though it wasnt the £1000 one… much more reasonable from mothercare as you said. I think you have chosen some gorgeous ones to feature… love the big arm chair one!!
    Thanks for linking to #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oo sounds lovely! £1000 for a chair is extreme, I’d be terrified of getting it dirty with isn’t ideal when you’re sitting on it with a baby! Thanks for reading 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. These are gorgeous. I looked at nursing chairs when I was pregnant with my first baby as I think they are beautiful but her nursery is teeny tiny so I didn’t bother in the end. Baby number two is on the way and will be sans nursery all together so definitely won’t be getting one. They are certainly lovely to look at though. x

    Like

    1. I’ve read lots where people have said they didn’t have one, or had one but didn’t need it, so I could be about to waste my money but I’m going to try and squeeze one in if I can! Hope you’re doing ok with your pregnancy, good luck with baby 2! Thanks for reading 🙂 x

      Like

  3. I *nearly* bought myself an original Eames RAR just before I had the boys — I thought I’d treat myself and get the rocking chair of my dreams — but with my sensible head on, I decided that the thought of little toes and fingers getting trapped under the rockers was too much to bear!! So I went with the IKEA Poang instead!!!! Shame 😉 Thanks so much for linking up to #HomeEtc — Caro xx

    Like

    1. I hadn’t even thought of that! My parenting skills are already looking iffy! If I buy one, please don’t judge me, I promise I’ll take care of all fingers and toes! The IKEA Poang is great too so you made a good choice there! Xx

      Like

    1. I know it’s crazy isn’t it! Someone must be buying it but I certainly won’t be me! I grew up with an IKEA Poang in the house so I’ve always had a soft spot for them! x

      Like

Leave a comment